World of Warcraft – A Complete Journey

World of Warcraft


World of Warcraft

The game is set in the Warcraft universe and allows players to control characters from that world. The game is divided into two factions, the Horde and the Alliance, and players can choose to play as one of nine races. Players can also gain access to eight character classes per faction, becoming a Paladin, Warrior, Shaman, Hunter, Rogue, Druid, and Mage in the Horde. The Alliance has Paladins, Warriors, Hunters, and Mages.

Early on in World of Warcraft’s history, the game was met with some criticism for not offering much in terms of novel gameplay. Progression in each expansion is divided into three separate leveling paths: “normal” (the base game and its two expansions), “heroic”, and “mythic”.

First Expansion:

World of Warcraft

The first expansion of World of Warcraft was released on 23 November 2004. The Burning Crusade added two prominent features to the game: an increase of the maximum player level from 60 to 70 and a large number of areas that were designated for particular character levels. It also included four entirely new zones: The Blood Elf homeland north of Khaz Modan in the Eastern Kingdoms; Azuremyst Isle, home of the furbolgs and Draenei, east of Valormok in Kalimdor; the Shipwreck Cove dungeon and Tanaris desert in Kalimdor.

The Burning Crusade also increased the player level cap to 70, allowed players to establish a foothold in Outland (the former Northrend), and seek aid from reputed characters such as the Naaru O’ros in Telaar, Nagrand, or Allerian Stronghold in Terokkar Forest. The Draenei and blood elves each received their new capital city with Shattrath City and Silvermoon City being added for the Alliance and Horde respectively. Another drastic change was the redo of many quests, which led to a vastly accelerated leveling pace. Finally, flying mounts were introduced, giving players a much faster way to traverse the vast expanses of the world.

 Second Expansion:

The second expansion, Wrath of the Lich King was announced on 21 August 2006. This expansion set is set in Northrend and centers around the plans of the Lich King Ner’zhul and his lieutenant Kel’thuzad within Icecrown Glacier. The main new feature was the introduction of an entirely new continent called Northrend where both factions had a foothold with their racial starting areas, with two extremely large cities per faction, with information on previous missions scattered throughout them or given by NPCs in-game. In addition, this has been advertised as having “the most expansive list of features ever offered in one World of Warcraft package.” It raised the level cap from 70 to 80 and introduced severely scaled-down versions of the previous continents as zones within Northrend. It included a revamp of the honor system and a new battleground progression system, which makes it easier to move from one bracket to another (unrated battlegrounds, arena, or rated battlegrounds).

Third Expansion:

The third expansion was titled Cataclysm and was released on December 7, 2010. The storyline revolves around former Horde Warchief Thrall’s quest to revitalize the destroyed world by working with factions such as the Alliance and Dark Horde (led by Deathwing) to do so. This includes revisiting areas remade by the Shattering five years prior; Teldrassil is now regrown after being burned down by the Horde, Darkshore’s terrain has changed due to not just night elves but furbolgs and Wildhammer dwarves attempting to rebuild after the Shattering, etc. This is done with redesigned quests based on these changes. The level cap was raised from 80 to 85 in this expansion.

This latest expansion, Mists of Pandaria was announced on October 21, 2011, at BlizzCon 2011 and released on September 25, 2012, in North America and Southeast Asia (October 2012 elsewhere). The major setting for this expansion pack is an island named Pandaria which becomes available by the start of Level 90 when all finishing quests are completed.[3] It includes a new class called “Monk”, which can heal allies through melee combat and can select a second specialization later in the game. The Monk uses energy instead of mana as a resource for some of its abilities. The new continent is split into several regions, which include Vale of Eternal Blossoms, Krasarang Wilds, Kun-Lai Summit, Townlong Steppes, and Dread Wastes.

The expansion contains small features that allow players to upgrade their items by spending Valor points or Justice points. Players may also buy an item called Renown from vendors at their faction’s home city to unlock enemy factions with whom they are locked in combat so they can do daily quests against them.

The idea behind this structure was that players would be allowed to experience all-new content up through Mythic raiding within each one by completing quest associated with it. Blizzard implemented this structure to encourage players to experience all-new content and maintain a healthy endgame. Each expansion is projected to last approximately two years, with the content being added over time through patches.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter